Get Involved

How Do I Get Involved?

Our church is not a place for spectators. It is a place for service and fellowship. Whether you are a five-year old child, a ninety-five year old grandmother, a busy mom, or a businessman with big responsibilities, we want you to be a part of our vibrant church community. Here is how you can learn, serve, and grow at Greater Providence. Your church needs your help now and urgently so. We have many ministries that are not doing what they have the potential to do because they need You! You must join in and help make this church God’s best.
The Schedule of Ministry Activities contains a full schedule of each ministries planned activities. You can locate the meeting times below.

Alpha Fitness

Barbara Ray, Chair
Mary Ledbetter, Vice-Chair
Basketball League
Priscilla Rickenbacker, Director
Phillip Nowlin, Assistant Director
Aaron Howie, Assistant Athletic Director
Demetrius Harris, Assistant Director
Bulletin Boards
Gena Hoursey, Coordinator
Patricia Lutrell Sharon Bailey
Christian Life Enrichment

Saturdays (2nd) @ 10:AM

Rev. Winston & Tanya Lassiter
Joyce Culbertson
Jasper Lewis
College Bound Ministry
Denise Coleman, Chair
Denise Summers, Vice Chair
Culinary/Hospitality Ministry
Ola Mae McCoy, Chair
Bennie Thomas, First Vice
Thelma Caraway, Second Vice
Dance Ministry
God’s Destined Praisers/Mime MinistryMondays @ 6:30 PM
Highly Praised Youth
– Saturdays (2nd & 3rd) @ 9:30 AM

Saints-N-Motion (Adults)Mondays before 3rd & 4th Sundays @ 6:00 PM

TBD, Chair

Drama Ministry

Aaron Howie, Co-Chair
Valentine Harlee, Co-Chair
If you have the desire to serve in this ministry, please fill out the form on the table outside of the Sanctuary and return it to the Chairperson.

Education Committee Saturdays (3rd) @ 12:00 Noon

Rev. Arnold Lewis, Director of Christian Education, Ministries, & Youth
Esther Bruce
Annissa Colson
Sharon Ewing
Lara Harris
Anissa Surratt
Deacon Michael Whitehead
First Responders Ministry

Saturdays (4th) @ 11:00 AM

Deborah Lewis
Wanda Clark
Flower Guild

Saturdays (3rd) @ 10:00 AM

Sharon Bailey, Chair
Brenda Asbury, Co-Chair
Grief & Recovery Ministry
Rev. Mary E. Higgs, Coordinator Esther Bruce, Assistant Coordinator Deacon Sharon Exum, Counselor
Hands in Motion
Thursdays @ 10:30 AM
Claudette Bethea, Director
Erma Crowder, Co-Director
Kate Hamilton, Co-Director
Host/Hostess Ministry
Sharon Nowlin, Chair Joyce Isom, Vice-Chair
Metta Hughes, Secretary
Intercessor Prayer Ministry
Tuesday, 1st & 2nd @ 7:00 AM
Rev. Andre Caulton, Chair
Patsy Young, Vice-Chair
Leadership for Women

Mondays (1st) @ 6:00 PM

Deborah Lewis, Chair
Cheleta Caulton, Vice Chair
Judy Kilgo, Secretary
Rae Smith, Treasurer
Margaret Weldon Missionary Circle

Saturdays (2nd) @ 10:00 AM

Shirley Brown, Chair Willie Mae Randolph, First Vice Bennie Thomas, Second Vice Christine Fox, Third Vice Betty Saunders, Fourth Vice Lillie Ann Walls, Secretary Diane Cannady, Treasurer Thomasena May, Chaplain
Thelma Caraway, Social Chair

Media Ministry

James Berry, Chair Eddie Bailey TC Cannady Bronwen Gibson William Grogan Jeff Meadows David Sams

Music Ministry

Ivory Coleman, Minister of Music Curtis Dean, Assistant Minister of Music
Lonnie Miller, Associate Musician


Brotherhood Tuesdays before 2nd & 3rd Sundays @ 7:15 PM
Larkin Smith, Chair Phillip Nowlin, Vice-Chair
Earl G. Rogers, Secretary
Mass Choir Thursdays before 1st & 2nd Sundays @ 7:00 PM
Lois Whitehead, Chair Cheleta Caulton, Vice Chair
Camille Thompson, Secretary
Spiritual (Hymn) Choir Saturdays @ 12:00 Noon Leroy Tillman, Chair Valentine Harlee, Vice Chair
Deacon Michael Miller, Secretary
Youth Mass Choir

Saturdays before 2nd & 3rd Sundays

Voices of Gratitude
William Simmons, Chair
New Members Pastoral Assimilation
New Members’ Teachers’ Training – Saturdays (1st) @ 10:00 AM (except January)
New Members’ Class – Wednesdays immediately before the last 2 Sundays of the month 
Gail Brown, Director
Patsy Young, Assistant Director
Rev. Mary E. Higgs
Josie Forman
Virginia Little Chester Thomas
Pastor’s Aide Committee
Sharon Bailey, Chair Claudia Sullivan, Vice Chair Liz Jones, Secretary

Pastoral Assimilation Caring Group (PAC) Wednesdays (1st) @ 5:45 PM Lorene Mackey, Chair Mary Ledbetter, Vice-Chair Cassandra Daniels, Secretary Theritha Duren, Asst. Secretary Avid Ford, Treasurer


Mondays before 3rd & 4th Sundays @ 6:00 PM

Janai Taliaferro, Chair Shayna Vasquez, Vice-Chair
Stephanie Lewis, Secretary

SAMSON Men’s Ministry

Saturdays (2nd & 4th) @ 10:30
Rev. Reggie Bodrick, Chair Vacant, Vice Chair Kenneth L. Avery, Secretary William Caraway, Treasurer
Sunday School Classes –

Every 4th & 5th Sunday

Carol Howie, Chair
Esther Bruce, Vice Chair
Sunday School Ministry

1st, 2nd & 3rd Sundays @ 9:45 AM, 4th & 5th Sundays @ 8:50 AM Gena Hoursey, Superintendent Rev. Mary Higgs, Co-Assistant Superintendent Harlan Dula, Co-Assistant Superintendent

Transportation Ministry
Deacon David Hughes, Coordinator
Bill Caraway, Assistant Coordinator

True Vine Ministry

Steffanie Lewis, Chair
Usher Ministry
Saturdays (3rd) @ 9:30 AM
TBD, Chair
Marva Waller, First Vice Chair
Linda Williams, Second Vice Chair
Linda Littlejohn, Secretary
Betty Saunders, Treasurer
Web Ministry
Brenda Meadows, Web Designs & Updates
Wedding Ministry
Eddie Bailey, Coordinator
Youth Ministry

2nd Tuesdays @ 6:30 PM Lara Harris, Youth Ministry Coordinator