Tulips Website Banner

How Do I Get Involved?

Our church is not a place for spectators. It is a place for service and fellowship. Whether you are a five-year old child, a ninety-five year old grandmother, a busy mom, or a businessman with big responsibilities, we want you to be a part of our vibrant church community. Here is how you can learn, serve, and grow at Greater Providence. Your church needs your help now and urgently so. We have many ministries that are not doing what they have the potential to do because they need You! You must join in and help make this church God’s best.
The Schedule of Ministry Activities contains a full schedule of each ministries planned activities. You can locate the meeting times below.

Alpha Fitness

Barbara Ray, Chair

Mary Ledbetter, Vice-Chair
Classes at the Family Life Center
Mon 6:45 pm
Tue 9:00 am, Senior Aerobics
Bulletin Boards
Gena Hoursey, Coordinator
Christian Life Enrichment

Saturdays (2nd) @ 10:AM

Rev. Winston & Tanya Lassiter
Joyce Culbertson
Jasper Lewis
College Bound Ministry
Denise Coleman, Chair
Rev. Marvin Crawford, Vice-Chair
Culinary/Hospitality Ministry
Ola Mae McCoy, Chair
Bennie Thomas, First Vice
Thelma Caraway, Second Vice
Dance Ministry
God’s Destined Praisers/Mime MinistryMondays @ 6:30 PM
Highly Praised Youth
– Saturdays (2nd & 3rd) @ 9:30 AM

Saints-N-Motion (Adults)Mondays before 3rd & 4th Sundays @ 6:00 PM

Donna Smutherman-Scott, Chair

Drama Ministry

Aaron Howie, Co-Chair
Carrie Pegues, Co-Chair
If you have the desire to serve in this ministry, please fill out the form on the table outside of the Sanctuary and return it to the Chairperson.

Education Committee

Saturdays (3rd) @ 12:00 Noon

Rev. Marvin Crawford, Dir. of Christian Education

First Responders Ministry

Saturdays (4th) @ 11:00 AM

Deborah Lewis
Wanda Clark
Flower Guild

Saturdays (3rd) @ 10:00 AM

Sharon Bailey, Chair
Brenda Asbury, Co-Chair
Grief & Recovery Ministry
Pastor Gibson, Director
Rev. Mary E. Higgs, Asst. Coordinator
Deacon Sharon Exum


Host/Hostess Ministry
Sharon Nowlin, Chair
Joyce Isom, Vice-Chair
Metta Hughes, Secretary
Intercessor Prayer Ministry
Tuesday, 1st & 2nd @ 7:00 AM
Rev. Andre Caulton, Chair
Patsy Young, Co-Chair
Leadership for Women

Mondays (1st) @ 6:00 PM

Deborah Lewis, Chair
Cheleta Caulton, Vice Chair
Judy Kilgo, Secretary
Rae Smith, Treasurer
Margaret Weldon Missionary Circle

Saturdays (2nd) @ 10:00 AM

Shirley Brown, Chair
Willie Mae Randolph, First Vice
Bennie Thomas, Second Vice
Christine Fox, Third Vice
Betty Saunders, Fourth Vice
Lillie Ann Walls, Secretary
Diane Cannady, Treasurer
Thomasena May, Chaplain
Thelma, Caraway, Social Chair

Media Ministry

James Berry, Chair

Music Ministry

Ivory Coleman, Minister of Music

Curtis Dean, Assistant Minister of Music
Lonnie Miller, Musician


Tuesdays before 2nd & 3rd Sundays @ 7:15 PM

Larkin Smith, Chair

Phillip Nowlin, Vice-Chair
Earl G. Rogers, Secretary
Mass Choir
Thursdays before 1st & 2nd Sundays @ 7:00 PM

Lois Whitehead, Chair

Cheleta Caulton, Vice Chair
Camille Thompson, Secretary

Spiritual (Hymn) Choir

Saturdays @ 12:00 Noon
Leroy Tillman, Chair
Valentine Harlee, Vice Chair
Deacon Michael Miller, Secretary
Youth Mass Choir

Saturdays before 2nd & 3rd Sundays

Voices of Gratitude
William Simmons, Chair
New Members
New Members’ Teachers’ Training – Saturdays (1st) @ 10:00 AM (except January)
New Members’ Class – Wednesdays immediately before the last 2 Sundays of the month 
Gail Brown, Director
Patsy Young, Assistant Director
Rev. Mary E. Higgs
Josie Forman
Virginia Little
Pastor’s Aide Committee
Lorene Mackey, Chair
Mary Ledbetter, Vice-Chair
Cassandra Daniels, Secretary
Theritha Duren, Asst. Secretary
Avis Ford, Treasurer

Pastoral Assimilation Caring Group (PAC)

Wednesdays (1st) @ 5:45 PM

Lorene Mackey, Chair
Mary Ledbetter, Vice-Chair
Cassandra Daniels, Secretary
Theritha Duren, Asst. Secretary
Avid Ford, Treasurer

Thomasena May, Chaplain
Linda Ferguson, Asst. Chaplain

Mondays before 3rd & 4th Sundays @ 6:00 PM

Janai Taliaferro, Chair
Shayna Vasquez, Vice-Chair
Stephanie Lewis, Secretary

SAMSON Men’s Ministry

Saturdays (2nd & 4th) @ 10:30
Rev. Reggie Bodrick, Chair
Rev. Marvin Crawford, Vice Chair
Kenneth L. Avery, Secretary
William Caraway, Treasurer
All Crafting
Thursdays @ 10:30 AM
Yarn Crafters on recess until the fall.
Claudette Bethea, Director
Erma Crowder, Co-Director
Kate Hamilton, Co-Director
Sunday School Classes –

Every 4th & 5th Sunday

Carol Howie, Chair
Esther Bruce, Vice Chair
Sunday School Ministry

1st, 2nd & 3rd Sundays @ 9:45 AM, 4th & 5th Sundays @ 8:50 AM

Sharon Ewing, Superintendent
Gena Hoursey, Superintendent/Youth

Transportation Ministry
Deacon David Hughes, Coordinator
Bill Caraway, Assistant Coordinator
Usher Ministry
Saturdays (3rd) @ 9:30 AM
Donna Smutherman-Scott, Chair
Panthy Thompson, Vice Chair
Linda Littlejohn, Secretary
Betty Saunders, Treasurer
Web Ministry
Brenda Meadows, Web Designs & Updates
Wedding Ministry
Eddie Bailey, Coordinator
Youth Ministry
2nd Tuesdays @ 6:30 PM
Rev. Marvin Crawford, Director of Ministries

Lara Harris, Youth Ministry Coordinator

Priscilla Rickenbacker, Athletic Director
Phillip Nowlin, Assistant Director
Charles Hooper, Assistant Director